Release the Beast

4 08 2009

Every one of us has their own, secret, inner way of viewing themselves. You may think of yourself as a very patient person who enjoys nothing more than helping others, or as a pragmatic realist who sees things more clearly than others do, or as an outgoing social butterfly whom everyone loves- the list goes on and on. Often, these self images are very different from the way we actually act towards and are viewed as by others. Maybe we took to heart something in particular said about us a long time ago, perhaps we are stifling our true personality for fear of the consequences, or are just in denial.

It can be very hard to be true to our real thoughts, and often it’s a much more prudent idea not to be! It’s shocking how often my instincts tell me to say to a friend, “Shut up and deal with it, God, all you ever do is whine about this ridiculous boy who’s just mooching off you!” or things to that effect. If I really listened to my angry, sarcastic, skeptical inner voices I really doubt that my friends would ever speak to me. So the trick we are addressing here is the rare ability to separate your good instincts from the not-so-good, and the real from the fake.

Take a moment and think about how you see yourself. Write it down, if it helps. Take that list and look it over carefully; does friendly really mean pushy, or are you a truly outgoing and caring person? Is shy code for lonely and frightened, or do you know and accept that you are simply a quiet introvert? My list went like this;

realistic
skeptical
caring
bookworm
friendly
shy
compensates
verbal
tolerant

Reading back through this, I realize that I tend to dismiss immediately opinions other than my own (realistic, skeptical), that my shyness around new people tends to come off as cool and unfriendly, and that I sometimes support things or ideas that I am really not sure about yet because I view myself as tolerant. I sometimes feel that if I don’t believe in something immediately I’m not being as “openminded” as I am supposed to be, according to my inner version of myself. See? Immediately, things to work on and a new insight into the way my interactions with others work.

Self images are the root of everything we do. It’s important to understand ourselves and take a good long look at everything in order to facilitate a deeper awareness of our desires and our needs. You’re fabulous, amazing, and very important, so take some time to discover yourself- what you find might surprise you. Asking a friend is never a bad idea, either, but do be prepared for brutal honesty when asking how you really come across to others.

Extra credit: Daily Om. Sign up for their daily newsletter. It has a distinct overtone of those hippie guru men who talk about dirty auras, soul beads and animal spirits, but it’s fun nonetheless and it will assuredly make you think. 

Actions

Information

4 responses

11 08 2009
Marley

Thanks doll- that tattoo is my favorite 🙂 Got any ink you love?

11 08 2009
limespark

I’m still seventeen, so not for another year! But I have a few pieces already planned, and I absolutely cannot wait.

11 08 2009
Kate

Ah yes, writing down tends to make everything a little more clear, doesn’t it?

18 08 2009
Katie

Thanks for the great post! This is very inspiring!!! I also think it’s very important.

X

Leave a Reply

