Abortion

10 06 2009

Abortion debates tend to be either very polite and condescending, vague and distant and unanchored in concrete life, or of the screaming angry variety. I have a new proposition. Why don’t we acknowledge that educated, well thought out sharing of information and thoughts will do more good than anything else? Protesting with signs gives no real education to the passerby who are the target audience, and things of this nature tend to lead to people who have no real idea of facts, statistics, or procedures bullying others.

Another important idea; everyone, educate yourself and then don’t be afraid to say what you think and why. Yes, some (often many) people will despise you. However, half the problems regarding this issue stem from the fact that people talk in generalities, grey areas, and maybes. Saying simply, “Well, I guess it’s wrong, except sometimes, you know, like incest or whatever,” does not constitute an opinion.

I will now state my opinions on abortion.

One- it should be legal until the third trimester, unless it poses a serious health risk (physical or psychological) to the mother. I emphasize serious. I say it should be legal for the first two trimesters because in all reality, this gives a woman adequate time to discover her pregnancy and make a decision. Most congenital defects which might influence a decision can be diagnosed in this time frame as well.

Two- I find it perfectly morally acceptable to terminate a child because it will be mentally retarded or otherwise severely disabled in some way. The parents, whose lives will be irrevocably changed, are worth more than a fetus. I say this openly, and yes, I’m fully aware of how horrible it sounds. This doesn’t change the fact that I personally think a fully grown woman’s dreams, plans, desires and beliefs are more important than a half-developed child who will feel only brief pain.

Three- On a slight tangent, I believe that our governments should institute mandatory I.Q. testing. If the I.Q. of a person falls below the score of, say, 89 (the high end of the dull or slow intelligence range) they should be provided and educated on the proper use of birth control until the age of 18, and if their I.Q. is still below the acceptable number, they should be sterilized. To put it frankly, I believe stupid people should not have children. If they feel the urge to procreate, they should adopt one of the world’s countless children instead of passing on their undesirable genes.

Four- I respect beliefs contrary to the ones I have expressed above, and provided it stays polite and respectful, I am happy to have a conversation about them. However, I will fight to the death for my right to have an abortion if I feel the need, especially considering that I have always made it a point to stay educated regarding my sexual health, and the possible if unlikely results of my activities are included in that. Whittled down to the essentials, I find the idea of a forced pregnancy terrifying, do not want to go the adoption route because I believe our world is hideously overcrowded, and again, I think I am more important than a child. A side note- I will fight to the death for other’s right to not have an abortion, and to speak their minds about it, as well.

Five- Don’t use the argument of, “Well, this woman here decided not to have an abortion, and now she wouldn’t give up her baby boy for anything in this world.” This is illogical and merely a statement of the blindingly obvious. Of course she loves her baby now, it’s a natural instinct that nearly every woman would experience. Of course she would die for her baby now. This doesn’t change the fact that had she gone through with the abortion, she would not feel these feelings because there would be no baby. Not every woman, not nearly as many as are portrayed, go through racking guilt and regret after abortions, though some do.

Writing this was cleansing for me; I am so sick and tired of knocking heads with people who either refuse to lay down in black and white what they believe or try and deafen me into submission. I would add something to the effect that I am not a bad person, but I believe that I shouldn’t have to justify my beliefs. Thank you for reading, and any comments are welcome.

Actions

Information

15 responses

10 06 2009
miku

I especially agree with you on the third statement. In fact all the article is well written. Kudos for it.

19 06 2009
lyra

I love you for writing this. I agree with everything but beyond that, it’s just a great post.

10 07 2009
Ava-May Hemme

Such a delicate topic that most people won’t touch with a barge pole, I admire you for voicing your opinions!
x

27 07 2009
M

Great job. So often people are unable to sit down and logically speak about this issue. I think that the more emotionally charged an issue is, the harder, but the more necessary it becomes to address it in a respectful, concise manner, just as you’ve done! Although I hope I never have to face such a decision, you’re totally on the mark. I think it’s hard, but we need to examine how ignoring the facts can hurt our society.

3 08 2009
Royabelle

Are you serious… ? Dumb people should be sterilized?! Where do you live, kid? Behind the moon?
I hope you are aware that other, supposedly “great” men have had that idea before and this idea turned into genocide and war.

Marinate on that. Grow up. Think before you write unless you want to keep disgusting readers.

3 08 2009
limespark

Ah, see, that’s the great thing about opinions; they are simply that. Believing something does not make it law. And also, I realize that I’m only sixteen and all my opinions and beliefs will most certainly change as I grow up and experience more of life. Yet I did think before I wrote and I stand by my opinions.

4 08 2009
Royabelle

I know everybody is entitled to their own opinion and I respect that, I was just very shocked when I read that article of yours.

You might be right, that you will change your mind when you grow a little older (that’s actually very likely 😉 ) but the problem is, that some people DON’T realize what is wrong with your arguments. Read the other comments again.
The problem is not *one* person having a controversial opinion, but *many* people who are just too lazy (or, as you say, too dumb) to use their own brains, turning into followers.

I wonder what made you write this entire article in the first place – you mind sharing?

4 08 2009
limespark

Yeah, I freely admit I’m not an expert on the subject, although I’ve done what amounts to a respectable bit of research at various times. I also fully realize that my ideas and opinions have some major flaws that would show up promptly if ever put into practice! As for the ignorant followers you speak of, I firmly agree with you on that. In my article I do advocate self education before argument.

Mostly I wrote this because I am literally the only person I know who is pro choice, and it makes me feel like a lonely, sometimes disgustingly amoral freak. Secondly, writing has always helped me firm up my thoughts. Thirdly, abortion is something that I believe in very, very strongly; it is part of my measuring stick for the state of the world. I suppose I just wanted to exchange ideas and put my own out there! 🙂

5 08 2009
Royabelle

Here’s my two cents: Listen to peoples’ opinions, then decide if you want to accept it. But don’t worry about people who will treat you like that “disgustingly amoral freak”, because in the end, if that’s what they need to do to convey their beliefs, they are not the people you want to surround yourself with. Or are they any better than you? No. Quite the opposite.
(That sounds harsh, I know.)

Many people who judge you just because you’re pro choice will base their “opions” on misunderstood religous beliefs. You can safely assume that they have less of a clue than you. (Be careful to not be just smarmy, do your homework! Knowing THEIR sources well, i.e. the bible, gives you an incredible advantage in discussions!)

And just by the way: I believe in the right to have an abortion just as strongly as you do. Where I live, it’s not much of a big deal (morally) anymore. I had an abortion when I was 18 and I can (and will) talk openly about it, because I don’t believe that I will go to hell now 🙂
My family and friends were very supportive and that’s probably the only reason why I didn’t crack up completely over it. An abortion is a nervewrecking thing, and please don’t underestimate that. It came across like this a little bit toward the end of your article 🙂

6 08 2009
limespark

Oh, I totally understand how an abortion could be emotionally horrible; all I meant was that sometimes it’s portrayed as something that EVERY SINGLE woman regrets terribly, and it’s not always.

As far as the ‘amoral freak’ thing goes, I am actually pretty vocal about my opinions, but it’s really surprising how aggressive people get and I don’t choose to get into a shouting match with someone who, 90% of the time, is just mouthing words their parents put in their mouths! It’s been very refreshing to talk to someone like you, actually, who’s capable of not automatically assuming that since I believe in something different I also drink lamb’s blood and kill babies. 😉

6 08 2009
Royabelle

what ? you don’t ?!

*lol*

6 08 2009
limespark

Haha, no, I prefer goat blood… *wink*

24 01 2010
Pocketpig

Wow, someone with sense. I couldn’t have said it better myself!

Also, I’d like to point out that overpopulation is an *enormous* problem and the fewer people who pump out baby after baby – specially if they don’t have the means to care for them – can only be a good thing.

So many people should be means-tested before being allowed to have kids. Or gain a parenting licence. Too many toxic people have toxic kids.

Brilliant!

24 01 2010
limespark

EXACTLY. Thank you for the compliments 😉

25 06 2010
Jay

Wow, that’s just incredible. I absolutely agree with you 100%, especially on the I.Q. part. I thought my friend and I were the only ones who voiced our concerns and frustrations with stupid people. I’m sure it will never happen, since our country has pretty much made an artform out of stupid, lazy, self-indulgent, spoiled brats…and doesn’t seem to be slowing down on that front anytime soon.

Leave a Reply

